Over Priming-Potential Bottle Bombs? HELP

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rb2112

Reaction score
Hi- I'm somewhat new to brewing 5 gal batches and may have created a disaster. I brewed a Sierra Nevada Clone-1.060 OG and 1.012 FG. The FG was stable for over a week-had it in primary for 3 weeks then bottled. I normally use hop sacks, but for this batch I just added all of the hops directly to the boil. So, I added 5oz of corn sugar boiled in 2 cups of water to prime-then racked the beer to the bottling bucket. My problem was towards the end of the racking I tipped the bucket to get as clear as beer as I could and accidentally jerked the primary and all the hops and yeast turned into a cloudy mess. I stopped racking the beer (I should have just continued to rack the cloudy mess) and ended up with only 42 12oz bottles for a 5 gal batch. The beer was approximately 70 degrees when bottled, in 12 oz brown beer bottles you buy at the LHBS. WILL I HAVE bottle bombs or just extremely over carbonated beer. I wrapped the cardboard cases of beer in heavy duty black glad trash bags and also put them in rubbermaid containers in case the bottles explode. They are in a room at 70 degrees temp. now. Thanks for your help! Rob B

I'm still pretty new to this, too, but that sounds like you're only down about half a gallon from where you should have been (assuming you'd normally leave half a gallon in the fermentor). Doesn't seem to me like it should be much of an issue. If you try a bottle and it's getting more carbonated than you like, you could move them into the fridge to slow/halt the process.