Online Water Calculator Does Not Make Sense!!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewmathew

Reaction score
I sent away for a water report, bought a PH meter, purchased some salts and acids and cannot figure out what to do with them!!! I just started brewing (3 batches) all grain and want to get my water dialed in. Where do I start? Nothing complex, balanced profile, and specifically want to address any major deficiencies affecting final outcome. I have also attached a copy of my water report.

I have visited the sites but cannot figure out specifically what I am to do. Specific additions, etc would help but I am generally looking for direction in terms of do this first, check this next, add this after, do this last, etc, etc. PLEASE HELP!!!!

I find this water adjustment tool works well. http://www.brewersfriend.com/water-chemistry/

Your water really doesn't look bad at all. I would concentrate on mash PH and leave the rest alone unless you're brewing a style that really needs a specific profile. Other than that, I would look for improvements in other areas of your brewing.

Once you get the mash PH dialed in you can adjust the sulfate to chloride ratio if you must. My water is such that I use RO and build from there, so I'm jealous.

Bob

That is my problem understanding. So the process is to measure the ph of the mash then add acids to compensate to 5.4??