Olive odor in finished beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dylan8405

Reaction score
Please help! I'm not a beginner, but I'm having the same problem I had w/my first batch of beer.

I have brewed about 12 batches over 5 years or so.

My last two batches I have tried something different - Hoping to get a higher alcohol level, I have brewed an Oktoberfest Ale and a Winter Warmer with more extract than the recipes called for.

For my Oktoberfest, I used about 8 pounds of light malt extract (recipe said 6.5) and for the Winter Warmer I used 10 pounds of light malt (recipe said 6.5) and 1 pound of dried malt extract (recipe said 1). I used White Labs California Ale yeast for the Oktoberfest and Dry English Ale for the Winter Warmer. I also used Servomyces. They both fermented fine - each was about a week in the primary (airlock then hit 1 bubble a minute) and then a week in a secondary and then 2 weeks in the bottle. Both of the fermentations were somewhat warm - about 72 - 74 degrees or so. ABV on the Oktoberfest was 5.92% and 8.00% on the Winter Warmer.

MY PROBLEM ---

Both of these beers now have a very strong odor of green olives and they have a sour taste which gets stronger in the aftertaste. The beers are drinkable, but they are the worst smelling I have ever made.

What is causing the green olive smell/taste? Any ideas? Is it too much malt? The warm fermentation? The Servomyces? Problems with sanitation?

I feel like I'm losing my confidence because I have made plenty of good batches of beer and now I have two losers back-to-back.

Thanks!

-Dylan

Several possibilities spring to mind.

Yes, fermentation is a bit too warm for starters. Extra extract is not necessarily a problem unless you are not pitching enough yeast to handle it.