"Off Flavor" Bavarian Hefeweizen - NB Kit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlutoA10C

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
So, I'm relatively new to homebrew (and love it, by the way!). I've done about 10 brews over the last year or so. 2 of them were Bavarian Hefeweizens and both (2 different kits, one from Northern Brew and one from Midwest - similar recipes, but different yeasts). Here's the issue:

- Both recipes produced flavors I don't detect in professional (Weihenstepaner) brews and don't particularly like.
- I realize they will not be the same, but based on reading I may have a phenol or esther problem - what do they taste like? I do not smell the normal "bready" odor I expect (and like).
- I do not have a refined pallet, I don't know the difference between a phenol or esther flavor.
- I do not notice an overly "banana" odor or taste. As I said - no bready aroma or flavor.
- Zero head retention, although I understand this can be due to numerous issues, I don't seem to have issues with other brews.

Any insights are greatly appreciated!

Cheers! Dave

What does it smell like , what does it taste like ?

No clove , banana , slight tartness at all?
Now that you mention it, it does smell/taste like clove. It's a "finish" flavor predominantly. To be clear, I don't think the beer is bad, it simply has a flavor I don't prefer.

Did you use dry (WB-06) yeast? That would make a not-Hefeweizen.

I used Liquid Wyeast 3068 Weihenstephan yeast and I made a 1 liter starter with it the day before brew day - put the entire starter in the 5 gallon batch. From what I've read, overpitching shouldn't be an issue.

Thanks!