Not allowing Wort to cool?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

benver

Reaction score
Total newb here, on batch #5, with mild success.

Started poking around here last night and plowed through some great info.

My question is this... i had not read or herd anthing about allowing my wort to cool after my boil is complete. So far i have just been pouring my wort into
3 cold gallons of water through a strainer. Is there an advantage to racking rather than pouring at this point in the process?

Is this bad news? Is it too much of a shock to the wort? What is the worst case scenario with me not allowing the wort to cool? What are the advantages of letting it cool before mixing with water?

thanks in advance for the feedback!
fyi - I will probably have follow up questions.

Total newb here, on batch #5, with mild success.

Started poking around here last night and plowed through some great info.

My question is this... i had not read or herd anthing about allowing my wort to cool after my boil is complete. So far i have just been pouring my wort into
3 cold gallons of water through a strainer. Is there an advantage to racking rather than pouring at this point in the process?

Is this bad news? Is it too much of a shock to the wort? What is the worst case scenario with me not allowing the wort to cool? What are the advantages of letting it cool before mixing with water?

thanks in advance for the feedback!
fyi - I will probably have follow up questions.

If you are pouring into COLD water and the mix is getting to the mid to upper 60's you are fine. And the splashing is something you SHOULD do after the wort is cooled down. As far as shocking the wort, I don't think that is possible until the yeast are added.