Northern Brewer grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

farmskis

Reaction score
What do some people get for mash efficiency when using NB crushed grains ? I have never used them before but I have some gift cards to spend.

I'd suggest you dig in your pockets for spare change and check the cushions of the couch to see if you can find just a bit more, then buy a cheap Corona style grain mill (about $30 in several places) so you can buy uncrushed grains and mill them yourself. It's the only way to assure yourself of consistent grain milling. Once you have your own mill you have the opportunity to purchase your grains in bulk and make a batch of beer anytime you have time available.

I've used the crushed grain from NB, seems to be a pretty consistent crush and it's usually done when you order. I haven't stuck with any one brewing system long enough while using their pre-crushed grain to give any accurate efficiency numbers, keep changing my equipment.

I have done about 8 kits now from them that they have crushed for me and I think I can throw out the first 4-5 just on learning curve alone but lately I seem to be getting between 69-72% with batch sparging and 1.5qt/lb ratio

What do some people get for mash efficiency when using NB crushed grains ? I have never used them before but I have some gift cards to spend.

If it's anything like morebeer, 65% Brewhouse Efficiency (BIAB) no sparge is what I get. But like RM-MN said get a corona. I just got a corona type mill and made my ugly junk mill, hope to make it to 70% or a little better.