New brewer here, bottling questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattsmitty

Reaction score
Hey guys, im new to the brewing scene and will be doing my first extract brew this weekend. My question is what is the proccess for bottling?? I have priming sugar but when do i add it? how do i add it? and does it matter what size bottles i use? i have about 30 or so 12 oz bottles and 4 growlers i want to use with this 5 gallon batch im gonna be doing. Do i move beer from primary fermentor into i bucket (secondary) and mix the priming sugar in right before i begin to bottle?? Any help or input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Take 2 cups of water and your sugar, boil it to dissolve the sugar. Pour this into your botteling bucket. Rack your wort onto the sugar, if you use a siphon tube, or spigot with tubing to transfer, then your wort will mix evenly with the sugar. Then bottle the combined wort and sugar.:fro:

ok thanks, so when u say rack the wort onto the sugar, do u mean use a siphon tube or spigot with tubing to pour the wort onto the mixed sugar and water? i dont stir or anything? is the wort still at fermenting temp? sugar mixture hot?

ok thanks, so when u say rack the wort onto the sugar, do u mean use a siphon tube or spigot with tubing to pour the wort onto the mixed sugar and water? i dont stir or anything? is the wort still at fermenting temp? sugar mixture hot?

Yes, exactly, although I always stirred gently as well just to be safe. The sugar mixture doesn't need to be as cool as the beer, the important thing is to make sure it isn't hotter than your bottling bucket is rated for. The beer will cool it off extremely quickly when you transfer.