New brewer from Michigan

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrgrimm101

Reaction score
Hello all!

My name is Nick and I'm from Lansing, MI.

I am very new to the world of home brewing and so far I am in love with it.

I bought a Brewer's Best Deluxe Kit with a 5 gal glass carboy and a separate 5 gal brewing kettle. Gotta love tax returns! :) For weeks prior to my first brew I was reading every book I could get my hands on and watching every youtube video I could on how to brew.

My buddy and I brewed our very first batch ever last Sunday, March 30th. It is a Bell's Two Hearted clone recipe that I got from my local home brew supply store. It has been sitting in the glass carboy for 84 hours now and I'm pretty sure the aggressive foaming stage has passed..I had quite the airlock foam situation until I rigged up a blow off hose.

I am very excited to continue the process with this batch and to brew (hopefully) countless more batches.

The styles I like are pale ales, IPAs, red ales, amber ales, wheat ales, stouts, and porters. I am mostly interested in pale ales and IPAs.

The next recipe I am going to attempt is a partial extract Zombie Dust clone.

Thanks for taking the time to read my introduction and any tips, pointers, advice, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers and happy brewing :mug:
-Nick (mrgrimm101)

I am mostly interested in pale ales, IPAs, red ales, amber ales, wheat ales, stouts, and porters.
(mrgrimm101)
Quite a list of mostly interested in :p

Welcome to the addiction mate. Good luck with everything.

I assume you'll be bottling? If so, how was the collection?

Haha I suppose I could have said I don't have much interest in lagers. :cross: I guess mostly I'm interested in pale ales and IPAs.