Never bottled before

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmcvay131

Reaction score
Ok so it's my first time bottling and I'm just looking for some advice for the best method for adding or mixing the priming sugar? I'm using dextrose 5 ounces it says on the bag it's for a five gallon batch.

jmcvay131 said:
Ok so it's my first time bottling and I'm just looking for some advice for the best method for adding or mixing the priming sugar? I'm using dextrose 5 ounces it says on the bag it's for a five gallon batch.

Go to the bottling/legging forum and click the bottling stickie by Revvy. It will explain everything you need to know and then some as well as helpful hints and tricks:)

Read this thread. ton of good tips in there.......

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f35/

Take your priming sugar and boil it in a little water, cool down and pour into you bottling bucket. Rack your beer into the bottling bucket. The swirling of the racking should mix it all together. Some mix slowly, but I never do.

Bottle away..Put them in a 70 degree area for three weeks. Pop a few in the fridge for a minimum of 24 hours and enjoy.

Boil it in some water for 10-15 mins to sanitize, cool it off to the same temp as your beer. Dump it in your bottling bucket and then rack on top of it.

If you are worried about it mixing, you could always rack a gallon or so into the bucket first then finish the rack on top of it.