Negra Modelo bottles?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SeeAliceBrewery

Reaction score
I searched the forums and was unable to find if these bottles will work with the standard red handle capper. The top looks identical to me to the New Castle bottles...and I have found the New Castles are good to use.

Have any of you used the Negra Modelo bottles with the standard capper? If so...was it all good? Or were there issues?

Love this forum...there is a ton of experience here! Thanks in advance!:mug:

Hello, I am not an expert, but I can help you with this one. I used the Red Capper and to bottle in two Negra Modelo bottles that I had, so I can tell you that you will have no trouble with it.

Hello, I am not an expert, but I can help you with this one. I used the Red Capper to bottle in two of those bottles, so I can tell you that you will have no trouble with them.

I use them also. No problems.

The only problem I have is I usually order Negra Modelo at our favorite Mexican Restaurant and then give the empty bottle to my wife to smuggle out in her purse!

Almost all pry off cap bottles will work fine. Bottles with thicker neck ribs tend to work better. I'm in Texas and local breweries like Rahr and Son and others use bottles with a very thin neck rib. I have had a few shear off when capping. This has never happened with my Negra Modelo bottles.

Thanks much....I heard people complaining about getting the labels off...I soaked them in hot (120 degrees) soapy dishwater...peeled them off...then used the green scratchy and all the labels including the gold tin type label on the neck came off really easy! I will be using some of Negra Modelo bottles and the clear New Castle bottles for my Caramel Apple Cider next weekend! Thanks again folks!