Need Help With English Ales

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mateo

Reaction score
I have been brewing for nearly 25 years and all of my time I have been brewing German Wheats, German Lagers and Czech Lagers. I decided to expand my brewing and would like to start brewing some English Ales. My gg-grandfather studied brewing in Somerset England back in the mid 1800s and I would like to start brewing some of the traditional ales that are popular for these styles however, I know nothing about them.

Can anyone give me some suggestions of commercial examples that I might find at Total Wine or elsewhere. I am planning on picking up some Fullers ESB and London Pride as I saw the special on Fullers.

I need a good all grain recipe as well. I recall on my last visit to the UK that almost all of the beers seemed to be Bitters. Is this the most common kind?

I need a good all grain recipe as well. I recall on my last visit to the UK that almost all of the beers seemed to be Bitters. Is this the most common kind?

Bitter is indeed pretty common, but probably the most common beers are lagers, sadly. I like English Milds myself.

I really enjoyed my Ruddles County Ale clone: https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f64/ruddles-county-ale-clone-275243/

Yooper's house Mild is quite tasty too - search for it, I can't seem to find it.

MC

Don't know if I can recommend a good beer to try, but I have been using White Labs Burton Ale yeast recently and it has been incredible. I recommend looking into it if your planning on brewing an English ale. It is reliable, gives a nice flavor, only downside is that it leaves beer a little cloudy, but that's acceptable for English ales (at least that's what I've been told).