My No Weld, No Wiring Necessary Self Contained E-HERMS System

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Normans54

Reaction score
I have been brewing for almost two years now, and I recently decided to take the plunge into building my own brewing setup. This website has some incredibly talented, knowledgeable, experienced, and skilled contributors who have built gorgeous automated systems with all the bells and whistles. Unfortunately, I do not know how to weld (though I did learn how to sweat copper pipe for this project) nor do I know much about electrical wiring. However, I didn't think it was fair that only the incredibly talented, knowledgeable, experienced, and skilled contributors could live the sweet life when it comes to home brewing, so I wanted to see if I could get a taste of it by having a temperature-controlled HERMS system like the big boys. As a result, I got to designing and I figured out how I could build a HERMS system that included on-board water filtration, electronic temperature control, and a pump. All of the parts were off the shelf and available at Home Depot, Amazon, or More Beer. aside from the sparge/recirculation arm, the only special tools that I needed was a circular saw, power drill, hand sander, table vice, and plumber's wrench. A PVC pipe cutter is helpful, but a hacksaw would work fine. For the sparge/recirculation arm, I also used a propane torch, dremel, and a copper pipe cutter (though again, a hacksaw would have worked as well). Aside from those things, the only other tools you might need can be found in a standard tool box. Below, I attached pictures of the final build and explanations of each of the components: