My first Kombucha, day 6, tastes a bit watered down

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clone45

Reaction score
Hello!

It's my first time making Kombucha! So far, so good. I've been following the instructions posted here: "The Simple Guide to Kickass Kombucha" and created my own scooby successfully.

It's now day 6 of the process, and I tasted my batch with a straw. It tastes fine -- mildly sweet and not too vinegary yet. But it also tastes a bit weak. Is that normal?

Thanks!
Bret

Last edited by a moderator:
Hard to say based on your perception. But yes, it starts of dark and rich, and becomes lighter and weaker as it ferments.
Got #s?
pH?
Brix?
Basic Recipe?

Hi @rushpapers !

Thanks for the feedback. I'm just a beginner, so I don't have pH or Brix. Here's the recipe that I followed: link. (Sorry, I attempted to paste this link before, but I failed.)

You need to use a recipe based on weight. 4 bags or 1 tbsp of tea is not accurate. 1/4 cup of sugar is not accurate. Get a scale and translate into either grams or ounces (wt).

When I first started I was told to use 6-7 bags per gal. since I had a scale and wanted to use loose leaf. I weighed 3-4 different mfg bags and ALL came in at 2 grams. My 2 gal batches use 14 grams each of green and black tea. I use the pure cane juice sugar in the green bag from Aldi and 1 cup is ~ 225 grams. I use 500 grams in 2 gal ,most use 450. I like the tea flavor with 28 grams of tea in 2 gal. You have to remember that the sugar is not for you but the culture.