Mr. Beer Saison experiment critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elburrogrande

Reaction score
First of all let me say I am very new to brewing and I have an extra Mr. Beer kit laying around so I thought I would experiment with it. I probably added about $15 in extra ingredients. I plan on brewing this in the next couple days. Let me know if I need to modify anything or if I am in for a disaster. Here is what I have so far.

extract:
1.87lbs Kit came with American light malt extract

2 gallon batch

OG: no idea
FG: no idea

Grains:
.6lbs Gambrinus White Wheat
.4lbs Gambrinus Pilsner
.5lbs Great Western Pale 2-row
.5lbs Acidulated Malt

Hops:
1oz Hallertau
.5oz Amarillo hops?

Yeast:
no idea how old yeast is so im replacing it with belle saison yeast

extras:
zest of 2 limes
handful of hibiscus flowers
1whirlfloc tablet

I am thinking meshing the grains @155 in 3qts with the acidulated malt added after the initial mashing. Boiling for 60 minutes with hallertau added at the beginning and maybe adding .5oz of Amarillo with 10 minutes remaining along with the lime zest and whirlfloc. Ill add the extract at end and just follow the mr. beer instructions from there. Ill be adding hibiscus flowers after initial fermentation (should add a nice color) Anything I should do different or I am missing?

I didnt plug in the numbers to check the estimated OG/FG, but recipe looks good to me for a partial mash.