Money for nuthin...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CliftIndy

Reaction score
Hello, HomeBrewTalk!
I've been brewing for about two years now since my wife picked up a one gallon all grain kit from Brooklyn BrewShop and I was hooked after that. I brewed for a year doing small all grain batches on the kitchen stove with decent results using really basic equipment and crude methods. After the first year, I upgraded to do five gallon batches but found it a challenge to maintain the all grain route because of the need for additional equipment and storage space. I also live in an area with terrible water. I started brewing with extracts and steeping grains. I like the beer that I make and it gives me great satisfaction.
Here's the question...I've got about $200.00 to spend on brewing equipment and I'm kind of lost on what to invest it in.
I've got a ten gallon kettle, standard wort chiller, replaceable bucket fermenters, bottling equipment and all the other little odds and ends.
My challenges lie in maintaining constant ferm temp in the summer months as I don't really have space for a spare fridge and a Johnson.
I also have small kids....so brew days start at 4am or 9pm

If you were on the same setup with the same concerns, how would you get the most bang for your $200?

Thank you, sirs!
Between my Christmas gift card, shopper points and 10% discount I can get all four of these within my price range. I had been considering the cooler for a while and saw others have positive reviews for it. I think my LHBS carries all of these in stock, too. A friend had suggested a counter flow and chigger pump to help cut time out of the brew day but I didn't see how that'd improve the quality of my beers.