Missed Gravity again for the third straight time!! Any help appreciated!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigEasy43

Reaction score
So I am a Rookie and AG and just finished my third batch and missed the gravity again and this is frustrating. This time I did a cream ale with numbers below.

Mash Water 2.83 Gal @ 150F for 60mins
Sparge Water 5.64 Gal @ 168F (Batch Sparge let it sit for 10mins)
Collected 6.5 Gal of Pre Boil Wort
Original Gravity was 1.030, but kit called for 1.044
Final Gravity was 1.004, but kit called for 1.008
Total Grain weight was 8.50LB

I use a rectangle cooler with a bazooka screen and I use kits as I am just starting out. I don't use DME at all as I don't feel comfortable with this and don't take a pre boil gravity reading. Is that one of my mistakes, not take a pre boil gravity reading?? I thought the all grain kits I am buying I wouldn't have to do this?? I feel with this beer as the ABV is about 3.5% is a waste of beer as it such a light beer now and should have been 4.8%. Any help would be great.

I have more success using 1.65 qts per lb for better efficiency. Use more strike and less sparge water to get equal runnings. http://hbd.org/cascade/dennybrew/

From dennybrew:

R1=initial runoff volume which = mash water volume - water absorbed by grain
(assumed to be .1 gal./lb. for this example since that’s the way my system works...use your own figure)

S= batch sparge water volume
V= total boil volume (amount in needed in kettle for boil)
I=volume of infusions for a step mash

R1+I+S(1)+S(2)+S(etc.) must equal V
AND
R1+I=.5V

Also Ck your crush. Finer crush may be required for better efficiency.