Making Cider From Freeze Dried Apple Juice Powder??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peakr8

Reaction score
Hi all.

My first question of a series of other questions I have on cider making.

I am a total newbie at making cider, but I do have quite a range of skills in food science and food/beverage production in slightly different categories.

I am currently living over in Thailand as a UK expat and am happily married here.

I am not sure if you are aware, but Thailand has the biggest expat community in the world numbering some 1 million and growing yearly.

In the 5 years I have been here, myself and most fellow expats I have met (including numerous bar owners) are very frustrated that cider here is about as rare as strawberries on the moon.

What is available here is grossly over priced and on a par with cheap champagne prices back in the UK.

A 440 ml can of Thatcher's I have paid £6 for ($10.11)

This is because of the high duty tariff on alcohol imports to protect the domestic production industry, and Thailand not being a country where apples are grown and thus imported at an equally high tariff price.

So cider making here, just isn't happening.

Thailand is a gloriously hot country and cider is the perfect hot weather drink, and I think it is a shame that people have to be very well heeled just to have access to this fundamental pleasure in life.

So myself and two other expats have decided to change all that.

Our aim is to bring home brew cider kits into the Thai market.
We are very much in the research stage at the moment, and we acknowledge that there will be many obstacles to overcome. But I don't see problems, I see challenges. Everything can be overcome.