Losing the will to brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beerthoven

Reaction score
So, I've been brewing for over 4 years. Done almost 70 batches, most of them all-grain. The last several months I just haven't been able to muster any energy or enthusiasm for brewing at all. It took me 6 weeks to get around to kegging a wheat beer, for Pete's sake! I don't think I'm going to quit altogether, but I think I'll take this spring & summer off and pick it up again in the fall.

Sounds like a good plan. I go through phases. Usually depends on my schedule. I would kill for some brew time these days. No need to force it. Wait until you'll really enjoy it and pick out an exciting recipe.

I think this is true for most hobbies. People go through phases, especially with long-term hobbies. I often find taking a break from a hobby makes me realize how much I missed it once I return.

I think this is true for most hobbies. People go through phases, especially with long-term hobbies. I often find taking a break from a hobby makes me realize how much I missed it once I return.

Seems to be true,at least I hope so. My lil tuner has been neglected since the deer hit. I'm just starting to miss it. Just haven't worked up the gumption to go out in 32F weather to work on it. I'm going to oversee my wife doing the next batch. That may help all the way round.?