Looking for some opinions on a very bungled partial mash

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrorange38

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm sure I'll take some insults on this one, but that's OK. :) I'm fairly new to partial mash brewing, and got mixed up on a recipe and ingredients I got from a local brew shop. Left with a batch that may be no good, and some major burn residue inside my previously clean stainless brew kettle.

This was the recipe:

6.6 lbs pilsen light
2 lbs flaked corn
1/2 pound carapils grain
1/2 pound munich grain
2 oz of tetnanger hops

To make a long story short, this batch would've probably turned out very well, and without trouble ... but I made a BIG mistake. I didn't know the flaked corn was supposed to go in the brew bag, and put it right in the water. :drunk: