Looking for a recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Skipper

Reaction score
I am a beginner brewer ready for my first all grain. I'm not sure what type of beer to make next. I have done an (all partial-mash) english brown, irish red, outmeal stout, rye wheat, and steam. So, I'm looking for something different. I'm looking for a good candidate for my 1st all grain, however, I'm just not familiar with a lot of differenty styles. I was thinking about maybe a bitter or a blonde. Please share any good recipes or advice. Thanks.

I'm in the same boat as you with first time ag. I'm trying a marzen/oktoberfest cause my wife likes that style. If you come across a good link for batch sparge recipes, let me know.

Beerdoc said:
If you come across a good link for batch sparge recipes, let me know.

I don't think that a recipe would be different between fly and batch sparging. Though the sparging makes a difference in the efficiency. But the brew house efficiency may be different between brewers anyway and you will adjust your recipe accordingly or supplement with malt extract.

As for recipies. Though I look around on the web a lot, I always found the basic recipies from the home brew text books very good. Especially if you just start out or want to become familiar with a style.

A good starter AG recipe is always 7lb of pale 2-row and 1lb of crystal malt. This is the basic grist for a pale ale.

Kai

What do you think about this website home.elp.rr.com/brewbeer/files/nbsparge.html by Ken Schwartz? It has an excel spreadsheet allowing for conversion from a typcial recipe for fly sparging to either a no-sparge or a batch sparge one. Cheers to Ken Schwartz for the hard work!