Kegerator or Chest Freezer: that is the question.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jablestein

Reaction score
I imagine that this is sort of a "personal preference" with a hint of "budget" thrown in, but I've been homebrewing for about two years now and I'm looking to make the jump into Kegging my beer. The major decision I'm trying to make right now is whether I go grab a Kegerator or a Chest Freezer as a means of storing my delicious cold brew.

I'm a bit torn at the moment. When I look and see all the awesome Kegs in the "Show us your Kegerator" thread, it makes me really want one! You guys have some sweet setups! However, these seem to get pretty expensive, pretty quickly. I've considered maybe grabbing one of the cheaper Danby models from Costco, but I'm slightly terrified by some of the reviews I've read. It seems like if I want to get a quality Kegerator I'm going to shell out $600+ easily.

Which has me thinking about the more economical approach of a Chest Freezer + Temp Regulator. There seem to be a wealth of quality chest freezer options in the $200-$300 range. They might not look as sweet as a Kegerator but they get the job done. They also seem a bit better from a functionality standpoint as it would give me some room to store multiple kegs, maybe even lager a beer and misc stuff I want to keep cold (yeast, hops, etc). It also gives me the option of doing a Kegerator conversion with taps/towers in the future.

So I figured I'd ask the audience. Which way did you go and why?