Jumping into All Grain and brewing for my wedding! Would love some help with equipment decisions.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Facticity

Reaction score
I've been brewing extract for a couple years and since I am getting married in June, I think it's a great opportunity to finally buy my AG equipment and affordably provide an open bar for our guests.

After a lot of searching online I've found Ontario Beer Kegs consistently has the lowest prices in Canada, even considering shipping, surprising since I'm on the opposite side of country. So everything listed is from their website. If you know of a better/cheaper Canadian supplier let me know.

The basic plan is 5 gal full boil batches, outdoors with propane, mashing in a square cooler with a brew bag for filtration and simple batch sparge if required. Gravity transfer, using a homebuilt wooden cart.

[Kettle,](https://www.ontariobeerkegs.com/Gra...ess_Steel_Pot_p/10gal-mashking-adv-kettle.htm) which will need holes drilled for a [weldless ball valve](https://www.ontariobeerkegs.com/Sta...or_Brew_Pot_p/3-pc-ss-weldless-spigot-kit.htm) and possibly a [thermometer](https://www.ontariobeerkegs.com/Sta...ermometer_2_Probe_p/weldless-therm-2-inch.htm) although I have read that they're not that useful on a kettle. I use the whirlpool method to clear trub, and am thinking a [simple dip tube](https://www.ontariobeerkegs.com/Every_Drop_1_2_Dip_Tube_p/every-drop-1-2-dip-tube.htm) rather than a screen or dam.

[The BC SQ14](https://www.ontariobeerkegs.com/Bayou_Classic_SQ14_Burner_p/sq14.htm) apparently only comes with a 5psi regulator. Is this sufficient? I've read it isn't, so I'll get a [10psi upgrade](https://www.ontariobeerkegs.com/Bayou_Classic_10_PSI_Regulator_Hose_p/bayou-10-psi-reg-hose.htm) if need be.