Is racking mandatory?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aryoung1980

Reaction score
I just pitched the yeast in my first wine kit. I'm making a Pinot Nero (Noir) from Reserve du Chateau. I replaced the kit's yeast with 10 grams of Lalvin Bourgovin RC 212.

My kit's instructions say that I should rack the wine once my SG gets between 1.010 and 0.998. Is there any reason why I cannot leave the wine alone until it hits terminal gravity (0.990 - 0.998) and then rack it for degassing/clearing?

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

My understanding is that failing to rack the wine off the sediment negatively affects the flavor. I'm a novice myself but every recipe I have read and every website says to, so I always do.

I have never made a kit but I suspect that the instructions to rack when the gravity reaches about 1.010 is to help ensure that you don't simply forget to rack and leave the wine in an open fermenter allowing it to oxidize. While the wine is at about 1.010 it is likely producing a fair amount of CO2 that will blanket the surface but when it drops closer to 1.000 the amount of CO2 being produced is far less and the protective blanket of this gas is far thinner and less effective.
Now, that said, if you are familiar with wine making and you have a good grasp of the principles and issues then it strikes me that you could leave the wine in the primary until it drops closer to 1.000 but if something goes wrong in the secondary or when you bottle then your "warranty" with the company that made the kit would be null and void because you failed to follow their instructions. However, since you substituted the yeast they provided it would seem to me that all warranties are null and void anyway so that you have nothing left to lose...