Is my water useable

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loudrail

Reaction score
I've been brewing all grain for almost 1 1/2 years. I have been using my well water for the majority of my batches but sometimes would dilute it with RO, knowing that I had hard water. I finally sent a sample in to Ward Labs and got my results back. I've also had a lingering after taste in all my Ales that I could never pin point. I brew on a rims setup and have changed my sanitation program and went to a fermentation chamber hoping to find the cause of this off flavor. I guess my question is, can this water be useable with dilution and water additions? Or would I just be better off to start with RO water? Could the water be causing the bitter/tart/puckering after taste that I am tasting in my Ales?

pH 7.7
Sodium 184
Potassium 1
Calcium 118
Mg 39
Total Hardness 458
Sulfate 99
Chloride 76
Carbonate <1.0
Bicarbonate 531
Total Alkanlinity 437

That's some $&%# up water... I have similar problems with my well water, but yours is even worse.

That is extremely hard water. Mine is very hard, destroys the pipes if left unsoftened, but is "only" 300 total hardness. The sodium is very high, as is the magnesium. The bicarbonate and resulting alkalinity are sky high; absolutely these are the reasons for the bad taste, no doubt whatsoever. The alkalinity will result in your mash pH being way too high, and this causes harsh bitterness. The mineral values are culprits, too.