Infection?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OdinsPanzer

Reaction score
Morning,

I'm a complete beginner and half way through my first batch, I went to dry hop at the weekend and like a spanner, opened the bag of hops which exploded and went all over the floor so in the bin they went and I'm waiting for more to come today 'hopefully'. I checked on the beer today and there's loads of tiny bubbles on the top, kind of like a half drunk pint that's flattened out (in secondary) that weren't there yesterday, I've tasted it and it seems OK, if not a little alcohol strong (that's the best way I can describe it) and there's no oily slick on top or anything. Is this just co2 escaping as it's been sat there for 5 days doing nothing or could it be the start or signs of an infection? If so, what should I look for to confirm it? I do t wa t to add my hops if it's pointless.
Its the mangrove Jack's juicy ipa kit with LME and I've tried to keep everything as clean/sanitised as possible.

I know you all probably get asked all manner of questions from panicking noobie but any advice would be great.

From what you describe, I don't think there is a problem. But it is hard to say without a picture.

I would just leave it alone. Don't open the fermenter more that you have to, you will introduce oxygen every time you do.