Infection or Overcarbed or Other?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Plainer

Reaction score
I am fairly new to homebrew but home the experts around here can help me with a bit of a gusher/carbonation problem. Do I have contamination? Or a carbonation problem? Or just a bottle conditioning problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have searched and read some threads, so hopefully I provide all the needed info, sorry for the length.

In total my homebrew experience stacks up to about 9 batches, all BIAB all grain using the same equipment. I have had about 3 batches in which there is some type of carbonation issue or contamination. I will use my recent 2 batches to provide info here.

1. Most recent batch, and Arrogant Bastard clone is a foaming gusher, not too wild but drains about 1/3rd of the beer. See a video here http://youtu.be/aOTjFkvV308 . The taste as far as I can tell is not affected. It’s a big beer with a bitter hoppy finish so if there was a small off flavour then it’s well masked. (some details below). I tried one bottle after 2 weeks of conditioning, and no foam over occurred.

2. My batch before this was an IPA (some details below), where when I opened the beer, the foam would only come up to the top of the bottle and stop, but the CO2 being released would stir up all of the yeast in the bottle, affecting the taste. I took this to be over carbonation. No off flavours in this beer, but with the yeast mixed in, it was not the best IPA I have had. The later bottles were much worse than the first bottles.

First, my cold side practice and equipment.