Industry Trends

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rexbanner

Reaction score
Hey, here's an article I wrote recently on the beer industry. Disclaimer: I am a recently turned pro-brewer and these are just my observations and opinions. My list of beers I have tried is pretty small compared to a lot of customers...if it's not distributed in my area, chances are I haven't had it!

Craft beer continues to grow, with the number of breweries in the United States increasing each year, and the volume of craft beer sales increasing as well. What does the future hold? Let's gaze into the crystal ball...

First, the obvious questions: is the market getting over-saturated, and will the bubble burst? Of course, but let's not get worried. First, a statistic I love to trot out whenever this subject comes up...in Virginia, the percentage of craft beer sales reached the highest level yet over the summer, at 6% of market share. In Oregon, it is 38%. There's plenty of room to grow in a lot of states. Second, some breweries may lose some market share, but overall, the industry will probably keep growing. My prediction is that as more great local breweries in the east start popping up, you'll probably see less taps with west coast IPA's as there will be some fresher local alternatives. Breweries will also need to work harder to differentiate themselves and create a unique identity.