I think my batch is a goner

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

volktc

Reaction score
The batch is a brewferm abrosia. It has been fermenting for 10 days. No activity up to this point has been seen in the airlock. OG was not measured, but according to brewferm after 10 days SG should be 1.01. Thursday it was 1.03 and today (Saturday) it was still 1.03 which I think means fermentation has A) stopped early even though it has been at the same temperature or B)I pitched the yeast to hot and fermentation never occured.

As some of you may have read I got a face full of C02 for the first time the other day off of this batch and still haven't quite recovered a few nose hairs, but today it just smells gamey. I work in a hospital so gamey to me is necrotic cheese ulcers that weep. What do you guys think? I don't want to dump it, but I don't want to hold up my only primary for a lost cause.

taste it. if it tastes fine and the gravity is still high try pitching some more yeast.

Taste it, now if it taste like necrotic cheese ulcers :cross: then dump it. *As a tear rolls down face just thinking of a dumped batch of homebrew :(*

Post recipe, so that we can figure what the OG should have been. That way we will know if there is alcohol protecting it or not.

What yeast? What temp are you fermenting it at. Is it on a cold floor. If it is too cold, the yeast can go dormant and stop part way thru. Warming it up again will start it off again.

If you want help, need to provide as much detail as you can.