I need a pot/kettle advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ak-71

Reaction score
I am very new to brewing, did 2 “Brewhouse” liquid kits (just add water and yeast type).
I would like to get into extracts and later in AG. Hope to do 6gal (5 Imp. gal) batches and hope to be able to do it in the kitchen in winter.
I am looking at two options for now:
- local restaurant supply store has a 10gal aluminum pot “Thermalloy” for 56$
- LHBS has a 9gal SS with 2 ports (for temp. and ball valve) for $110.

-Aluminum is bigger, cheaper and would be easier to heat on a stove top (tall – less free surface).
-SS has ports and looks cool

I lean towards the aluminum pot, but I am not sure if it will be possible to handle hot strike water later on for AG (no valve), but small enough.
9 gal seems to be too small and will be at least x2 more $ after valve and thermometer. Will be harder to heat as well.

Also 56$ is cheap enough to buy and keep for 5-6 gal batches and get a bigger pot later if I decide to do so – is there any problems I am missing?

I am very new to brewing, did 2 “Brewhouse” liquid kits (just add water and yeast type).
I would like to get into extracts and later in AG. Hope to do 6gal (5 Imp. gal) batches and hope to be able to do it in the kitchen in winter.
I am looking at two options for now:
- local restaurant supply store has a 10gal aluminum pot “Thermalloy” for 56$
- LHBS has a 9gal SS with 2 ports (for temp. and ball valve) for $110.

-Aluminum is bigger, cheaper and would be easier to heat on a stove top (tall – less free surface).
-SS has ports and looks cool

I lean towards the aluminum pot, but I am not sure if it will be possible to handle hot strike water later on for AG (no valve), but small enough.