Hybrid BIAB / 3 vessel setup

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beernutz

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
First off, apologies for the length of this post if it bothers you. I originally intended to submit it as an HBT article but later decided the idea was pretty simple and maybe not deserving of that distinction.

I've been brewing since 1991 starting with pots on a stove top through a variety of other setups, mostly gas powered outdoor ones. In 2013 when homebrewing was finally legalized here in Alabama I decided to build a permanent brew structure and ended up with a natural gas powered 3 vessel system with a control panel to control pumps and a PID to regulate a Honeywell natural gas valve. The system allows pretty good control of my mash, allows for good repeatably, and is relatively easy to clean. Building it also wasn't terribly expensive as everything in the picture below was put together for about $700, of which about $200 was for the strut structure the vessels are on top of.

IjKaR1p.jpg

This is the best brew setup I've used in nearly 3 decades of brewing but its big deficiency is it is not portable and I'd also like to squeeze a few more percents of efficiency out of it. The HTL on the left contains a HERMS coil which I pump into from the cooler mash tun using a Chugger pump. The mash tun has a bazooka screen wrapped with some stainless steel mesh.
p1YAb4c.jpg