How to fix a bitter beer (if it is)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cklages

Reaction score
Okay I'm not a complete noob, only a partial noob, however after todays brew session, i realize that I don't know as much as I thought I did. I look forward to any and all suggestions

I tried to make my first pumpkin beer (https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f76/samhain-pumpkin-ale-140674/). After sparging, I took a gravity reading, then converted for temperature, and it came out to 1.055 preboil. I ran that through a calulator and realized that I would be looking at 1.070 or so postboil, and figured that I just overshot my gravity by getting better efficiency than I had expected. I ran this through a calculator, and figured that I had better add some more hops to balance the alcohol and sweetness. I added 2 oz of willamette at 60 min (I didn't have any high alpha hops), but otherwise followed the recipe (although I used cinnamon sticks instead of powder and whole allspice instead of ground).

It never occurred to me that pumpkin might have worked its way through the mash tun and thown off the gravity readings. I took a gravity reading prior to putting it into primary after the cold break had settled, and I ended up with 1.054 after the boil(just like the recipe said I should). Now according to my calulations, I only boosted the IBU's by 30% but I tasted the wort prior to adding the yeast (notty from the suspect lot, yikes), oh my good crap is it ever bitter. I don't normally taste wort post boil, so I don't know if this is normal, but the bitterness was really suprising.