How much can I brew with a pot?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mitten

Reaction score
Hey guys. I've recently taken the step from kit brewing to all grain brewing buy doing a few experimental 1gallon brews. At the moment I have been mashing/boiling in a 1.5gal stock pot then chilling in an ice bath. I want to bump up the size of my brews so I'm investing in a 19lt stock pot.

I've assumed that I will be able to brew 2-2.5 gallon batches at a time (maybe even 3 gallons?). Would this be possible by just mashing/boiling in my 19lt stock pot? That's like 2.5 - 3 kilograms of grain, right? (sorry I'm still quite new to this brewing business!) Also, could I potentially add some DME or LME to the boil and and make a 2-2.5 gallon brew into a 5 gallon brew? I'd rather keep it entirely all grain but it'd be handy to have some nice beer in larger quantities, and use the smaller batches for experimenting.

(I have a 23lt fermenting vessel that's not getting used). I've been using 1gal demi jars to ferment my all grain batches in. I'm probably going to invest in some larger ones.

Thanks!

EDIT: been brewing in bags up until now

EDIT: Also just measured to gravity of my beers. First one was 0.995. I know I made a few mistakes with this brew so kind of ruled it out as a failure. My more recent brew (a brown ale) measured at 1.110. Is this normal for a brown ale? I'm going to measure the gravity again tomorrow.