How does this recipe look for my first experiment with oats?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nreed

Reaction score
Hi all.

I've created a recipe for the first time and just looking for some feedback as it's my first time using flaked oats and putting hops together.

I'm trying to create something that's sessionable but with some decent body to it, low IBU and a nice tropical/citrus flavour.

The 2nd chinook edition will just be at flame out until the temp reduces to 76C when I do the 30g hop whirlpool for 30 mins before bringing down to pitching temp.

I've not gone mental with the dry hopping as I understand this can cause oxidation issues.

This will be for a 10l batch which I will bottle (kegging will have to wait until my bonus comes in!).

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 12.54 L
Post Boil Volume: 11.40 L
Batch Size (fermenter): 10.00 L
Bottling Volume: 8.86 L
Estimated OG: 1.044 SG
Estimated Color: 8.3 EBC
Estimated IBU: 23.2 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 78.8 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU Volume
1.93 kg Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (5.9 EBC) Grain 1 93.8 % 1.26 L
0.13 kg Oats, Flaked (2.0 EBC) Grain 2 6.2 % 0.08 L
0.25 Items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 10.0 mins) Fining 3 - -
2.00 g Chinook [13.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 4 2.4 IBUs -
8.00 g Chinook [13.00 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 30.0 min, 9 Hop 5 10.0 IBUs -
10.00 g Amarillo [9.20 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 29.0 min, 7 Hop 6 3.0 IBUs -
10.00 g Citra [12.00 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 29.0 min, 76. Hop 7 3.9 IBUs -
10.00 g Mosaic (HBC 369) [12.25 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 29 Hop 8 3.9 IBUs -
0.5 pkg Safale American (DCL/Fermentis #US-05) [50.28 m Yeast 9 - -
10.00 g Amarillo [9.20 %] - 7.0 Days Into Primary for 7. Hop 10 0.0 IBUs -