How do YOU keep your cooler mash-tun as close to temp as possible?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hmmmbeer

Reaction score
I have been brewing for years and have since gone to AG a few years ago but have never been able to hold my mash-tun AT temp. In the pas I have just accounted for the 2-3 degrees that I lose so if I need to hold 153 I'll mash at 156. I am using a cooler as my mash-tun and thought of using a fermentation band(for a bucket) or even plugging in a heater blanket and just wrap it like a baby. That just gave me another idea, heating pad under the cooler should help too... I might try the heating pad and heated blanket this weekend and see how it does. I'll keep you posted on the outcome. BTW, I'm talking about when it gets cold outside(as I brew in my garage that isn't heated).

How do you keep your temp. close?

Thanks for any ideas! :tank:

I use an extreme cooler with heavier walls and I made a blue foam insert that fills the cup holders and a 1 inch blue foam cover insulates the top even more. I preheat my cooler with hot sparge water 20 minutes before show time and pour it out before I add sparge water around 176F. I have brewed at -10 in garage and temperatures held. I also kept grain in house at 68F before I added it! It works for me. I usually hit 154F doing this. If your temperature is dropping, dough in faster and add fresh hot water.!!!

When I first started using mine, my test showed that I was losing less than 1 degree over 60 minute mashes in my cooler mash tun. The one flaw I didn't account for was that I was brewing mostly big beers that came close to maxing out my mash-tun capacity. After ~3-4 tests I stopped checking the temp because I just assumed it was holding just fine.