Horrible funk in Belgian with 1214

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cubbies

Tastes like butterdirt
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing for nearly 3 years, and I rarely have problems, and when I do, I can pretty easily pin point what I did that made it that way. So, back in early August I brewed a Belgian with Pilsner malt, aromatic malt, sugar, and saaz. It wasn't out of this world...1.074 or something like that. 1L starter a couple of days in advance. The one weird thing that did happen is that after 24 hours there were no visible signs of fermentation. I know, I know all about the sometimes it can take 72 hours for fermentation to start. However, in my system I always get some signs of fermentation at 4 hours and I am full blown fermenting by 24 hours. To not see anything at 24 hours is very odd for my system. The next day on my way home I stopped at the brewstore and grabbed another smackpack of 1214 and let it warm in the car and then smacked it when I got home. I went to pitch it a couple of hours later and I noticed fermentation had started. Probably should have checked that before I smacked the pack, but oh well, what was done was done, so I pitched it anyways. Turns out 1214 is notorious for being a slow starter, should have done my homework. At any rate, I am rambling, and I don't see how pitching more yeast could have caused this.