Hoppy Blue Moon

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Knapptime

Reaction score
So SWMBO wanted a blue moon clone. So as I must obey, it is going to be my next brew. However I wanted it to be very hoppy and much more bitter than blue moon and she also wanted very prominent orange aroma and flavor. I am new to brewing. So my question is does this recipe sound like it will end up the way both SWMBO and I woul like it to?

Hoppy Blue Moon

Style: Witbier OG: 1.052
Type: Partial Mash FG: 1.013
Rating: 0.0 ABV: 5.11 %
Calories: 170 IBU's: 58.35
Efficiency: 70 % Boil Size: 5.57 Gal
Color:*** 4.9 SRM** Batch Size: 5.00 Gal
Preboil OG: 1.049 Boil Time: 60 minutes
Fermentation Steps
Name Days / Temp
Primary 14 days @ 65.0°F
Bottle/Keg 7 days @ 65.0°F
Secondary 7 days @ 65.0°F
Grains & Adjuncts
Amount Percentage Name Time Gravity
3.30 lbs 46.81 % Briess Pilsen Light LME 90 mins 1.038
2.00 lbs 28.37 % Briess Wheat DME 15 mins 1.043
6.00 ozs 5.32 % Briess Caramel 30L 90 mins 1.034
16.00 ozs 14.18 % Cane (Beet) Sugar 15 mins 1.046
6.00 ozs 5.32 % Briess Borlander Munich Malt 90 mins 1.035
Hops
Amount IBU's Name Time AA %
0.75 ozs 15.62 Mt. Hood 60 mins 6.00
1.00 ozs 34.70 Chinook 30 mins 13.00
0.50 ozs 3.46 Cascade 10 mins 5.50
0.50 ozs 4.57 Citra 5 mins 13.20
0.50 ozs Citra 7 days 13.20
0.50 ozs Cascade 7 days 5.50
Yeasts
Amount Name Laboratory / ID
1.00 pkg Safale US-05 Fermentis US-05
Additions
Amount Name Time Stage
0.50 oz Orange Peel 10 mins Boil
0.50 oz Coriander Seed 10 mins Boil
1.00 oz Oranges 07 days Secondary

There is a good blue moon recipe (both extract and AG) by Nilo floating around on the recipes page. I don't know if you looked at it first, but it might give some insights.