Homebrewers Toolkit Review

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Homebrewer's Toolkit Review
  • Homebrewer's Toolkit:
  • OS Windows 8.1 (available on the Windows Store)
  • Cost - $9.99 (full featured demo available)
I was excited to see a new brewing program, Homebrewers Toolkit, written for Windows 8 and especially one that synchronizes with OneDrive and that has a (soon to be released) Windows Phone companion app. I hate to say, but I'm disappointed.
I've been brewing for about 8 years and have tried multiple brewing programs, including Brewtarget, Beertoad, spreadsheets, and eventually landing on Beersmith. I'm coming to this from the perspective of ease of use, how well could someone who has not brewed much pick up the program and run, and from the perspective of how well information is laid out for me on a brew day.
I am going to give the "Too Long: Didn't Read" version first, and then go into detail. This program is not very good, I'm very sorry to say. Information is not given in any kind of concise fashion, instead being spread across multiple pages. Rather than listing ingredients first, they are listed in bits and pieces off to the right, while the initial display has nothing but Style and Total cooking time like the length of my boil (the "cooking" time) is a relevant detail. The second screen has dial gauges for Color, Bitterness, Batch Size (do I need a dial for that?), OG, FG, and ABV.