help with welding my 55 gallon barrel, single tier, tippy dump system

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrivewayBeer

Reaction score
Hi HBT! I am working on my 55 gallon barrel, single tier, brew system that will have a triple tippy dump setup for easy cleaning.

I was hoping to get some tips and advise for TIG welding the supports on the barrels. I am worried about the weld not being strong enough to hold the weight ( I calculate each barrel to weigh around 470 pounds if completely full of water) and also blowing through the sides of the barrels when welding.

I really I am looking for advise on on amp settings, filler size, travel speed, tungston and filler rod diameter, and strength of the welds. I am a beginning tig welder. I did weld the stand up myself, but not much experience with stainless.

The barrels are 55 gallon, 304 stainless steel. and only 0.035" (0.9mm) thick.

The bar that I am going to weld to each side of each barrel is 0.25 inches thick and the round bar is 1.25" inches in diameter.

So, there will be two welds types of weld. First, welding the 0.25" stainless steel flat bar to the 0.035" side of the barrel. The difference in thickness of materials makes me concerned about blowing through the barrel's side. Also, There will be a small gap that I will have to bridge between the bar and the barrel due to the curve of the barrel. I imagine I have to use filler rod to fill this gap. Should I back purge the inside of the barrel so it doesn't sugar?

The second weld is welding the 1.25" stainless steel round bar to the 0.25" thick stainless steel flat bar. I am wondering if multiple passes are required to increase weld strength as that joint will be holding a lot of weight (almost 500 pounds of hot water!)