Help Wanted - "Tour of Belgium" Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrpiper

Reaction score
I wanted to start by saying that this site has been a great resource for me since I started brewing about 9 months ago. I brewed my first all-grain batch last weekend after doing 12 partial mash batches. I've quietly absorbed a ton of information on this site, and now I would like to start to give back to this excellent community.

That said, I love Belgian Ales of every variety. Trappists, Wits, Blondes, Saisons...I think they are all great! I'd like to brew something Belgian next, but I couldn't settle on any one style. I'd like to do a Saison to take advantage of the warm weather in Florida at this time of year. I'd also like to do something with the D-180 syrup I received in CandiSyrup.com's promotion. Ultimately I'd like to come up with something that is uniquely Belgian. I'm not worried about fitting any specific BJCP category.

I came up with the following after browsing through Brew Like a Monk and looking through some recipes on this website. If anyone has any suggestions relating to any aspect of this recipe, please let me know. Thank you very much!

Fermentables
8 lbs - Belgian Pilsner (2 row)
2 lbs - Belgian Wheat
8 oz - Caramunich
8 oz - Caravienne
4 oz - Special B
1 lbs - D-180 Candi Syrup

Mash Schedule
75 min @ 150F

Boil Additions
Hallertau - 1 oz @ 60 min
Styrian Goldings - 0.5 oz @ 15 min
Stryian Goldings - 0.5 oz @ 5 min
Cracked Coriander - 0.5 oz @ 5 min

Fermentation
Yeast: Wyeast 3724
Pitch at 68F. Allow to rise to 80F over 48 hours. Place outside until fermentation is finished (approximately 4 weeks).

Anticipated Stats
OG: 1.062
FG: 1.008
ABV: 7.1%
23.1 IBU's
23 SRM

Thanks again!