HELP. Risk of no crimbo beer :(

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dublicious

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Started a brew kit on tuesday and just looked tonight and it is doing nothing :( The kit was sitting around for a while but well in date. Shall I ditch it and try again with another beer kit?

cheers,

j

Hi, will give it another day but normally it kicks off fine. What do you mean pitch some more yeast? sorry, I am a newbie.

Take care,

J

olllllo said:
72 hours or bust.

If you're particularly panic stricken, pitch some more yeast.

pitch means to add yeast to the wort...he's just saying to give it 72 hours and if nothing, pitch another sachet of yeast.

I'd rehydrate the yeast first...if this is a particularly heavy beer it can be hard for the yeast to take in water to hydrate.

Pitching yeast means to add yeast.

Was it dry yeast?
Liquid?
Do you know the temperature range that is best for that particular strain if yeast?
Recipe?
Why do feel nothing is happening? etc.

The more details you can provide, the better the help gets. :)

Go get liquid yeast and make a starter, pitch it and wait for the action to start. The only reason you should ever toss beer is if it tastes like @$$ my apology to anyone who likes that taste. :p And even then I have had beers that tasted rough but after 3 months in the bottle it was some of the best brew I had made. Sometimes it just takes time.

If you have no activity tomorrow get a packet of dry yeast (I wouldn't go to the trouble of making a liquid yeast starter for a re-pitch personally) and pitch it.
BTW, how do you know you have no activity? A quick search on the forum will show that the airlock is an unreliable indicator for fermentation.

TheJadedDog said: