Help me create a beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerDaddy94

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm still a bit of a newbie in the partial mash method and have used pre packaged recipe kits. Though to my visits to the closest homebrew supply shop Ive been like a kid in a candy shop and purchased quite a few different types of my own ingredients so I thought it'd be fun to list the ingredients I have here and have you guys help me come up with something! I want to make a 1 gallon batch using a mixture of the things I have. Like I said I'm still pretty new so any advise/constructive criticism and technical details of the ingredients is very appreciated. Alright I'll quit rambling and post the ingredients below
Lets make a beer!

So for grains I have the following in 1lb bags.
Simpsons Brown (Coffee) Roasted Malt
Crisp Pale Chocolate Roasted Malt
Dingemans Special Belgium Crystal/Carmal Malt

For DME I have the following in 1lb bags
Traditional Dark
Sparkling Amber
Plain Wheat
Pilsen Light

For Yeast I have Nottingham High Performance Ale Yeast and SafeAle K-97

And for hops Northern Brewer Cascade alpha 6.0%(roughly 7 oz) and 1 oz of UK Challenger alpha 5.1%.(please forgive my noobness but I'm still not quite sure what the alpha percentages mean)

So what do you all think? So far my experience as member here has been great and really fun so I thought this would be a really fun idea! Thanks Guys!

Alpha % is the amount of Alpha Acids in the hops... Corresponds to bitterness. So a high AA% hop would need less added to produce the same bitterness (measured in IBUs) compared to a low AA% hop....