Hello to all

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

head

Reaction score
Hi, I'm totally new to brewing, and I'm hoping to really learn here.

I've always wanted to start brewing, but every time I was about to get set up, an emergency wiped out my funds.
I'm finally ready, bought a second hand set up, which I need to really evaluate to see what else I need.

I humbly beg for the #1 newbie brewing piece of advice, as well as the best brewing book to buy and read.

Thanks in advance.

What's up head? Welcome to HBT.

Best advice? Don't worry, you beer's gonna be fine. aka RDWHAHB

Book? John Palmer "How to Brew"

Welcome to HBT! What beer are you doing first?

My first piece of advice is that some of the kit instructions are not good and sometimes the advice from your local home brew store (LHBS) can be iffy. It's best to ask here before you follow some instructions that may not be in your beer's best interest.

Thanks for the welcome.

1st, the kit I have has a 6 gal bucket, a 6 gal glass carboy, and all the tubing, normal beginners accessories.

2nd, I'll have to check out that book.

3rd, the I haven't decided what to brew for my first batch. Any easy malty suggestions?

4th, I'm not up on what RDWHAHB stands for, clue me in.

IMHO here are the things that you want to achieve ASAP.
1) Brew with fresh ingredients. Therefore you need a local source of supply. Some shop that can supply you with an assortment of grains, hops and yeast.
2) A mash tun is a vital tool, you can buy one or build one, I built mine from a Coleman cooler and some copper pipe. No mash tun, no fresh grains.
3) A good digital cooking thermometer is necessary.
4) If possible try and get out of the kitchen. Get a propane burner and a 40qt pot.