Hello, I make mead! Portland, Oregon

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Liquid Gold

Reaction score
Hi there, my name is Jon. I found this forum by searching "mead club portland". I'm looking for fellow mead makers in my area to share samples with. I've been brewing for about 11 years, and only the last 18 months focused on mead. I try to keep all of my 28 carboys going (3-7 gallon) for a steady supply for friends and family. I am looking to grow and sell in the near future.
My mead is simple; water, honey and yeast, plus the occasional fruit and/or spices. I do pasteurize a batch if I plan to store it long term, to prevent bottle bombs. My primary fermentation is 1-2 weeks before I add an ingredient, otherwise it can be too active and blow out the carboy. I use honey from my backyard, 3 acres of blackberries. I don't tend to the hives myself, that's a different group, I buy from them in 5 gallon quantities.
My best flavors so far are Jalapeno, blackberry, guava, ground red pepper, and pine needle. I volunteer at a food distribution warehouse for low income households, called Gleaners. I'm lucky to get most of my ingredients for free, it's food that would normally be discarded or given to farmers.

Anyway, I'm not sure how much I should say... I just want to reach out to give/get information about meads.
Thank you.

Welcome to the forum, from Long Island NY. There are some very active mazers here. My latest mead is dandelion. I’m not sure of how it should taste, but I don’t detect much floral notes. Luckily I can share some @ HBC and get feedback before sending it off to a competition.