Hello from PA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MGamber

Reaction score
I'm Mark in Lancaster, PA and I've been an avid reader for a couple years but only recently posted my first message concerning Bissell Brother's "Swish". I've been brewing almost every Saturday for 2 1/2 years, more or less, and always brew IPAs since my wife loves them and will never complain about the cost (I love IPA myself). About 18 months ago I took a tour of Allagash and ended up talking with a brewer who told me how Allagash did things and then went into how he did things as a homebrewer at length. Armed with that information, I seriously stepped up my brewing game...closed system, everything done in kegs, oxygenation, fermentation chamber, yeast starters...etc. After a while I ran some growlers of my take on Swish around to various people including a pro brewer who said I should consider entering it into a local competition. I was nervous about it but I did and lo and behold, I actually won out about 197 entries! So now I have two ribbons, I can brew a clone of the best IPA I've ever had any time I want and a local brewpub, Mad Chef Craft Brewing, has 220 gallons of my beer fermenting as I write this! What an awesome hobby!

I would like to thank the kind people on this site, Allagash, Mad Chef Craft Brewing, Bissell Brothers, Lancaster Homebrew and various friends who have provided countless invaluable information over the past 2 1/2 years. Cheers!

Congrats on those ribbions and the beer. Mark at Lancaster Homebrew is a great guy and always willing to help out. Keep up the great work. Post some of your recipes here so the rest of us can try your award winning beer(s)!