Hefeweizen idea

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jloewe

Reaction score
Trying to brew with my dad who wants to make “our” own creation now that I’m brewing and he sees how much fun my friend and I are having.

wants something drinkable for summer…
My mind went to hefe. I’m still a beginner but I feel like hefe is easy.

Thinking Partialish mash.

4lbs wheat DME

2lbs wheat malt
1lbs marris otter
1/4 pound smoked pale wheat malt

Mashed biab

white labs Hefeweizen yeast.

1oz Tettnang

thoughts? Am I getting too fancy for two beginners?

Regarding "1/4 pound smoked pale wheat malt"...I added 1 lb of Weyermann Smoked Wheat Malt to a Porter last year. I got zero smoke character. This malt has a very light smoke character. I learned after the fact that it can be used for 50% to 100% of the grain bill. I doubt 1/4 pound will add any character to your beer, if you are looking for some smoke character (which seems a little odd).

Well hefe is so strict and not variable and I wanted a way to make this unique to us. Kind of a “this is our beer. No one else’s drink it and enjoy” flavor but still be a hefe.

I figured summer, bbq, camp fire, s’mores…. I’ve had grilled bananas which are amazing (who’da thunk it) so why not try smoke? Not breaking any of “the rules” so there you go.

I think a Dunkelweizen would take well to a little smoke too.. heck I would not be surprised if the OG wheats had some smoke to them due to the malted grains used in the day.

I feel the big thing here is fermentation control. you wont get much control over enzymes on a mini mash and I am unsure how the DME will behave in regards to the Banana/Clove precursors.

Well it’s what I have for now. At least until I buy a house later this year. So partials and extract it is.