Grape suppliers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Raoul_Duke_PhD

Limes? What limes?
Reaction score
I've been brewing beer for a few years now, but my wife really likes her wine. I wanted to make some for her at home. Where do you guys source your grapes? Most of the information I have found online just says to try local vineyards. Are there any reputable stores out there to buy from? Thanks!

I'm in a similar situation. I've heard that lots of people start with grape concentrate, which can be purchased easily online or at your LHBS. It's the extract-brewing of wine, a good way to get your techniques down, not a good way to make a great wine. Or maybe that's just because I live in a terrible grape-growing region. YMMV.

Yeah, I didn't really wanna do the extract. I plan on buying the Blichmann Wine-easy and press them myself. It looks like I'm gonna have to visit my local vineyards to see if they can help.

All we really get up here is wild Concord grapes. I threw some in a beer once, but they're reputed to make very bad wine.

I've been making wine for about 10+ years. I've picked grapes at the vineyard, bought west coast grapes and juice that comes in buckets.
I usually buy juice in buckets any more, its much less work and the wine comes out great. It costs about the same as buying grapes.
Also, my local vinyard owner retired and so I can't get local grapes any more. Most commercial wineries don't sell grapes.
Call around the LHBS in your area and see if they sell any. This time of year you can usually get buckets of juice imported from South America.
Otherwise, wait until September.
My LHBS sponsors a wine club, and I've had some decent wine from kits, but never tried to make a kit wine myself.