Grape Ale experiment

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ec Plectico

Reaction score
Since I have several fruit trees, I’ve been brewing fruit ales, using LME, for a few years now. I’ve made peach, cherry, plum and apricot batches. All have been drinkable. I like the cherry the best.

In November, I started my first batch of red wine after I was invited to pick Cabernet Sauvignon grapes, for a fee, from a nice hillside vineyard not too far away.

A by-product of that was 4 gallons or so of fermented Cabernet Sauvignon grapes with the juice (wine) squeezed out. They were quite dry.

I’m sort of a seat-of-the-pants brewer, and try to use what’s convenient and available to brew my beers, or ciders, since I have apple trees, too. I don’t like to waste anything, so I brew these fruit beers to use up the excessive abundance of the fruit. My wife and I can, bake, dry, freeze fruit all summer long.

So when I looked at the grapes, for which I had paid $70, I thought I’d brew me up some grape lees beer.

I looked about to see what other folks had done, and grape lees seem rarely used, so I decided to do what I usually do and just start a batch of ale fermenting, and add the grapes in a brewing bag after fermentation starts to wane, and leave it in there for a week or so until the ale was fully fermented.

I expected that the resulting product would be purplish, with some tannins from the skins and perhaps a little additional alcohol from residual sugars, unlikely since the wine squeezed from the grape lees was zeroed out.