Ginger Beer Advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pecanbery

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm just getting started and was hoping if anyone could verify the following before I wreck my first batch. I'm starting with ginger beer as the simple sugars seem less complex than most beer recipes... and I like hard ginger beer.

If this is the wrong sub-forum apologies.

Ingredients
1kg dextrose (glucose)
1kg brown cane sugar (mostly sucrose)
250g lactose
250g erythritol
5g champagne yeast EC-1118
1kg fresh ginger
3 lemons

Method
Boil ginger, lemon and sugars with 5l of water for 30 minutes. Let it cool and then strain and add to the fermenter (fermzilla), add 5g of champagne yeast and another 17l of warm water and leave it open for an hour. Seal the fermenter and let it sit for 1-3 weeks at 15-23 degrees.

I've roughly calculated that the end result will be about 5% alcohol and that the lactose and erythritol will remain in the solution for sweetness. I'm completely new to this though so any tips/warnings are appreciated. I'm not clear on how long the fermentation will take either, I've read 1 to 3 weeks but if it was kept at 20 degrees does anyone have a more specific range of time?

If anyone has experience with a fermzilla is it possible to bottle under pressure?

Hi All,

I'm just getting started and was hoping if anyone could verify the following before I wreck my first batch. I'm starting with ginger beer as the simple sugars seem less complex than most beer recipes... and I like hard ginger beer.

If this is the wrong sub-forum apologies.

Ingredients
1kg dextrose (glucose)
1kg brown cane sugar (mostly sucrose)
250g lactose
250g erythritol
1kg fresh ginger
3 lemons

Method