First Time For Everything

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grampamark

Clowns to the left, jokers to the right
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
TL;DR-Trying to put 10 lbs of poo in a 5 lb bag doesn’t end well.
0B58D265-61B5-4BC1-8970-B68C611BB5DA.jpeg

FAD080BC-6BB1-44A2-A696-3AFF29528B37.jpeg

I brought a recipe kit for an American Wheat Ale to the city house so I could get a brew day in while we were here babysitting grandkids for a few days. I’ve been brewing here for the last 5 years using a turkey fryer to do 2.5 gal BIAB batches. Last summer, I scored some kegs from my neighbor, the scrounger, who lives across the street. My setup wasn’t conducive to brewing larger batches to keg, so I thought I would experiment with this batch.

I brought my 10 gal BK for the farm so I could do a full volume 4.5 gal (to the fermenter) batch, using the turkey fryer burner. I heated the strike water and noticed that the stand which holds the burner was a bit flexible with the added weight but didn’t think too much of it. After shutting off the burner and doughing in I went to get something off my workbench. I heard a loud crash and turned around to find that one of the supports for the ring which holds the burner had folded up under the extra weight, dumping the kettle, water, and grain on the garage floor.

After 2 1/2 hours of cleaning up I realized 2 things. 1) It wouldn’t take much to reinforce the burner stand and, 2) A lot of conversion takes place in the first 5 minutes because what I cleaned up was already pretty sticky. :cool:

TL;DR-Trying to put 10 lbs of poo in a 5 lb bag doesn’t end well.
View attachment 810466
View attachment 810471