First mead, some advice please

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TropicsMotel

Reaction score
Hi all

Just want to start off with saying I have never tried mead before(almost bought a bottle of chauncers but the reviews put me off haha), but this brew is more for my brother for getting into Harvard (he said he tried it once at a friends place and liked it a lot), so I am planning on aging most of this until he finishes his grad program.

I will be doing a 5 gallon batch, using 15lbs of clover honey I picked up from costco, and going off of the recipe from Ken Schramm's book. The only difference is I will be using WLP720 for my yeast and my local home brew shop sold me some nutrient and recommended 2 grams per gallon ( 10 grams total). Plan on bottling it in beer and wine bottles.

This is where I need the most help. I plan on adding some fruit to the secondary, but I need some clarifications. Some people have told me I can bottle after leaving the fruit (planning on using berries, pineapple, and peaches) in the secondary until I bottle. Others have told me to leave the fruit for a month or so, rack once more, and then I can bottle after aging the mead/melomel (twice as long as I had it in the primary).

Thank you for helping out a newbie sort out his first mead!